Things I Googled While I Was Pregnant

Let’s face it, as soon as you become pregnant, you start to worry about EVERYTHING. Apparently that worrying doesn’t ever stop even as your children grow older and move out of the house. And you typically always tend to jump to the worst conclusions. When you are pregnant, any tiny tinge of pain automatically means something must be wrong with the baby… if your baby isn’t born exactly on his due date, it must also mean something is wrong with him! Being a parent means constant worrying about the wellbeing of your child.

During my 40 weeks of pregnancy, I certainly spent my fair share of time on the Google machine, searching and researching to get some answers to some of my worries. Of course, your obstetrician or midwife is only a phone call away if you’re truly concerned that something may be wrong, but here are just a few of the things I Googled and what I found out.

“BLEEDING 7 WEEKS PREGNANT”

The first trimester of pregnancy was just filled with stress for me. I was terrified of a miscarriage, as the majority of pregnant women usually are. So, of course when you see even the tiniest amount of blood, you automatically begin to freak out. I’d  heard that spotting is normal in the first few weeks, mostly caused by “implantation bleeding” when the embryo attaches to the uterine wall… but I thought surely implantation should have been completed by week 7?? Probably, but there are also numerous other (harmless) causes for bleeding in pregnancy, including any irritation to the cervix like intercourse or a pelvic exam and even too much physical activity. I experienced some spotting one day when I was about 5 months pregnant after being on my feet for several hours straight. Even if you think the bleeding you have noticed is harmless, be sure to mention it to your doctor at your next prenatal appointment just to be safe. If you are experiencing extremely heavy bleeding or any bleeding accompanied by abdominal cramping, it’s probably a good idea to get things checked out ASAP!

“FELL DOWN STAIRS 27 WEEKS PREGNANT”

There are few things scarier for a pregnant lady to experience than a fall. I was putting away Christmas decorations when I slipped on my steps and took a tumble. Luckily, I landed on my butt and pretty much just slid down about 3 or 4 stairs. Still, it didn’t keep me from freaking out. I tried to keep myself calm to evaluate things; I wasn’t having any bleeding, and I just sat down on the couch for a few minutes and tried to relax until I felt the baby move again. When I was searching on Google about whether I should go to the hospital or not, I read stories from several pregnant women who fell and ended up landing on their bellies, which is even more terrifying. BUT it turns out that the baby is actually really well protected in there with lots of nice comfy cushioning, so even if you do land on your belly during a fall, chances are that things are going to be A-OK. Still, if you’re unsure or do experience any bleeding, cramping, or decreased fetal movement after a fall, get your doctor to evaluate you!

“RIB PAIN 32 WEEKS PREGNANT”

In general, I really enjoyed being pregnant and didn’t have a difficult pregnancy at all. That being said, I did start to experience quite a bit of discomfort throughout the last several weeks. Starting around week 32, I started feeling this pain right under my right breast. It felt like it was just above where the top of my uterus was, and the pain was so unusual and kind of hard to describe. Most of the time, it felt kind of like a burning or stinging sensation on my skin and other times it would feel like a straight up stabbing pain into my ribs. I was constantly checking to see if I had a rash or something causing the burning/stinging, but there was never anything there. I couldn’t find much on Google about it, but finally asked my doctor who said it was from where my uterus had gotten to the point where it was so large and squishing all of my other organs up into the rib space, it was causing the bottom few ribs to try to push out. Unfortunately, there is no solution but a birthday. So, when it got too painful, I applied cold packs to the area (which seemed to help a little bit) until I finally delivered.

“PELVIC PAIN 35 WEEKS PREGNANT”

A few weeks after I started having the rib pain, I started experiencing a completely different pain a little further down below. It was an odd sensation that I didn’t really even know how to put into words to search for answers on Google. But finally, I found the perfect explanation for it — some other women had been experiencing the same thing and described it as feeling like they had been kicked in the crotch or like they rode a bicycle for 500 miles. Yes! That’s what it felt like! Kind of like everything was just bruised down there. It felt the worst for me when I would wake up in the morning or in the middle of the night and go to get out of bed. I felt like I was being torn in half and did my best to hobble around until the pain would eventually subside. Sometimes I would feel it just standing up from sitting on the couch, also. It would come and go. Some of the results I found suggested symphysis pubis dysfunction, and when I looked it up, it did sound like what I was experiencing. But when I asked my doctor about it, he said it was just related to round ligament pain and the reason I felt it the most when I got out of bed was because the ligaments would shrink while I was lying down, and then stretch out again when I’d get up, causing the pain. Once again, he told me that the only solution was a birthday.

 

I don’t claim to be any expert on the subjects above, but if your mommy intuition is telling you that something is not right, do not hesitate to call your doctor or visit the hospital to get checked out! Always better to be safe than sorry… especially when there is a second tiny life depending on your health as well!

One thought on “Things I Googled While I Was Pregnant

Leave a Reply

